1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Countries in the European Union


The European Union Flag

The European Union Flag

Public Domain
As of the end of 2009, there are twenty-seven countries in the European Union.

Alphabetical Order

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

Dates of Joining:

1957: Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands
1973: Denmark, Ireland, United Kingdom
1981: Greece
1986: Portugal, Spain
1995: Austria, Finland and Sweden
2004: Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovak Republic, Slovenia.
2007: Bulgaria, Romania
  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. European History
  4. Government and Law
  5. List of Countries in the European Union

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.